漫步于川越的江户城镇

Jan 27, 2018


从繁忙又灯火辉煌的东京搭乘往西北方的短程火车就是颇具气氛的川越江户时代城镇,即大家熟知的「小江户」。其所著名的古老泥造仓库和藏造(kurazukuru)商家建筑给游客带来一种时光回溯数百年的感觉。

在江户时代(1603-1868),川越供给货品到东京,以贸易城镇之姿蓬勃发展着。德川将军任命许多他的亲信作为川越城的城主统辖这个领地,形成了川越与东京间的文化连结。

步行巡礼川越的历史

作为城市步行巡礼的首站,川越市立博物馆是个不错的地点,因为它介绍了这座古老城市的历史与文化。馆内展览品包括出土的遗址丶保存的文物以及讲解建造藏造(kurazukuru)商家房舍过程的模型和旧时城郭的地理图像。

邻近川越市立博物馆的的市立美术馆展出了出身于川越或与这城市有特殊渊源的艺术家之作品。大部分的永久收藏为当代艺术品,但全年内也举办特展以展现不同的风格。

对街的本丸御殿是旧川越城唯一保存下来的建筑。这座城池最初建造于西元15世纪中期,在西元16世纪间,後北条氏与上杉氏二支为争夺川越城发动了战争。北条氏纲于西元1537年占领川越城,尽管上杉氏试图夺回此区的控制权,最终仍宣告失败。川越城成为保卫江户城和後北条氏的小田原城之附属堡垒。

西元16世纪後期,德川义佑攻占了川越城。江户时代期间,德川幕府最信任和忠诚的臣民都是居住于川越城中。意为「防卫最内圈的宫殿」的本丸御殿是在西元1848年随後增建,作为住所和办公处用途。本丸御殿经翻修後,并在2011年对外开放,其宽敞的庭院和铺设榻榻米的房间,以及封建时代领主与家臣的模型,重现了旧时应有的情境。

自本丸御殿步行10分钟距离的喜多院是关东地区天台宗的主寺,院内包含的宫殿建筑是1638年由德川家光下令从原江户城移建过来的建筑中唯一残存的,残留的建筑则随後在1923年的关东大地震中烧毁。

喜多院最初在西元830年建造时是三座寺庙建筑群的其中之一,并于17世纪前三名德川幕府将军频繁造访时,因天台宗法师的影响下而蓬勃发展。参访的重点是位于一个小庭院中的540座石罗汉雕像,描绘了佛陀门徒的形象。

从喜多院往北步行一小段距离即是一番街商店街区域,这城市中最富特色的建筑都可在此看到。不同于许多日本古老城市仅用木头建造,川越的藏造(kurazukuru)泥土建筑和仓库是防火设计。然而这样的设计建造起来相对昂贵,许多商人以此作为其财富迅速累积的奢华展示。

今日,许多这样的江户时代建筑遗留了下来,作为日式餐厅或店铺,让漫步于街上成为颇具气氛的体验。若你想一窥这些建筑曾经的样貌,可以造访曾是烟草批发商家的传统建筑(藏造)资料馆,馆内展出店内曾经使用过的传统机器。

从藏造老街的主街走一小段路就是地标「钟楼」,这座钟楼是在1893年的川越大火灾后重建,一天会鸣钟四次(上午6点,中午12点,下午3点与下午6点)。

附近着名的果子屋横丁(Kashiya Yokocho),或称「糖果巷」,列着一排大正时期(Taisho-style)风格的建筑和摊位,贩售传统的日式点心和糕点。

这个地区随着1923年大地震时东京点心供应短缺而发展,川越的商家为满足需求因而兴盛了起来。

 

Tourist Note JAPAN

https://tourist-note.com/cn/20170518140823

スポンサーリンク

Historical Events // Cultureの最新記事

CATEGORY

OUR SERVICE

Popular Articles

Recommended Articles

Walking through the Edo period town of Kawagoe

Jan 27, 2018


A short train ride northwest from the bustle and bright lights of Tokyo is the atmospheric Edo period town of Koedo Kawagoe, affectionately known as “Little Edo”. It’s renowned for its old clay warehouses and kurazukuru merchant homes, giving visitors the sense that they are stepping back in time hundreds of years.

During the Edo period (1603–1868), Kawagoe prospered as an important trade town, supplying goods to Tokyo. The Tokugawa shogun installed many of his most trusted men as lords of Kawagoe Castle which presided over the settlement creating cultural links between Kawagoe and Tokyo.

A historic walking tour of Kawagoe

The Kawagoe City Museum is a good destination to start a walking tour of the city as it provides an introduction to the history and culture of this ancient city. Its exhibits include excavated relics and preserved artifacts as well as models explaining the process of building kurazukuri merchant houses and a geographical representation of the former castle town.

Adjacent to the Kawagoe City Museum is the City Art Museum which exhibits works by artists who are either from or have a special relationship to the city. Most of the permanent collection are contemporary artworks, but there are special exhibitions held throughout the year where different styles are showcased.

Just across the street is Honmaru Goten, the only building to have survived from the former Kawagoe Castle. The castle was originally built in the mid-15th century and was fought over throughout the 16th century by the Hōjō clan and two branches of the Uesugi clan. Hōjō Ujitsuna seized Kawagoe Castle in 1537 and despite attempts by the Uesugi clan to regain control of the region, they ultimately failed. Kawagoe became a satellite fortress for defending Edo Castle and the Hōjō clan’s central castle at Odawara.

In the late 16th century, Tokugawa Ieyasu took it over. Throughout the Edo period, the most trusted and loyal subjects of the Tokugawa Shogunate resided at Kawagoe Castle. The Honmaru Goten was added in 1848 as their residence and offices, with its name translated as “the palace in the inner-most circle of defense”. It was renovated and open for public in 2011, with spacious gardens and tatami rooms recreating how it would have once looked, complete with models of a feudal lord and his vassal.

A ten-minute walk from Honmaru Goten is the Kitain Temple which serves as the head temple of the Tendai Sect in the Kanto region. It includes the only remaining palace buildings of the former Edo Castle which were relocated here by Tokugawa Iemitsu in 1638, with the remainder of the castle being burned down during the Great Kantō earthquake of 1923.

Kitain was originally built as part of a three-temple complex in 830AD and flourished under the influence of priest Tenkai during the 17th century when it was patronized by the first three Tokugawa Shoguns. A highlight of any visit is seeing the 540 stone Gohyaku Rakan statues which are situated in a small courtyard and depict the disciples of Buddha.

Just a short walk north from Kitain Temple is the Warehouse District where some of the city’s most charismatic architecture can be found. While many old Japanese cities were made exclusively of wood, the karazukuri clay buildings and warehouses of Kawagoe were designed to be fireproof. They were, however, relatively expensive to build, with many merchants designing them in a lavish show of their burgeoning wealth.

Today many of these Edo period structures remain, housing Japanese restaurants and shops that make wandering the streets an atmospheric experience. If you want a glimpse into how the buildings may have once looked, then you can visit the Museum of Kurazukuri which is situated inside what used to be a tobacco wholesaler’s shop and exhibits the traditional machines once used here.

Just a short walk from the main street of Kurazukuri is the landmark Bell Tower which was rebuilt after the Great Kawagoe Fire of 1893 and chimes four times a day (6 am, 12 pm, 3 pm and 6 pm).

Also nearby is the famous Kashiya Yokocho or “Candy Alley” which is lined with Taisho-style architecture and stalls selling traditional Japanese sweets and cakes.

The area developed following the Great Earthquake of 1923 when Tokyo experienced a shortage in the supply of sweets, with shops in Kawagoe flourishing to meet demand.

 

Tourist Note JAPAN

https://tourist-note.com/20170518135707

スポンサーリンク

Historical Events // Cultureの最新記事

Popular Post

Recommended Articles