日本人的“守时”观

May 17, 2017


 

“你怎么迟到了!!!”

 

在居酒屋工作的一年半期间,我看了很多次外国打工者因为迟到而被经理责骂的场景。在这样一个对时间意识非常强烈的国家里,“迟到”是无法被日本人接受的。因为,适应日本生活的第一步就是“守时”!我专门写了这篇关于“守时”的文章,为有此困惑的朋友提出一点建议与对策。

日本的守时

日本人的守时是出了名的。日本人的认为“做事快速且准时”是常识,而这个常识显然与其他国家的定义有所区别。比如,如果你被告知上午10点钟上班,10点到达反而被认为是迟到。因为日本人认为至少提前10分钟到达工作岗位是一种常识。当你被告知上午10点钟上班,这意味着你需要10点钟开始工作,而不是10点15分开始工作。因此,请记住,提前10分钟到达岗位!

到目前为止,你应该大概了解的日本人对待时间的态度,迟到1分钟都是一件大事。但毕竟不可抗因素太多,迟到在所难免。那如果真的要迟到了,我们该怎么做呢?

迟到对策

因为电车延迟、天气恶劣或者睡过头……,有很多不同的原因会导致你上班迟到。当你知道自己要迟到,第一件事就是联系你的老板。你可以打电话给你的老板,或者发短信也可以。在发短信的时候,你需要提及以下3点:

 

  1. 道歉
  2. 原因
  3. 到达时间

 

向你老板或同事道歉是最关键的一步。因为日本人认为,因为你的迟到,有人需要做额外的工作,你实际上给人添了麻烦。因此,尊重你的同事并且为你的迟到而道歉,是非常重要的。

 

道歉之后,你需要解释迟到的原因。在这里,你需要小心你的借口。尽量避免个人原因,如因为熬夜而睡过头。因为日本人认为,明知道第二天要上班还要熬夜是对自己对工作都不负责的表现。忙于功课也不是很好的接口,因为你可能被视为一个以自我为中心的人。若你睡过头了,只需要告诉他们你睡过了头,没有多余的借口即可。

 

在你解释了迟到的原因之后,你需要提及预计到达时间,这一步也非常重要。你的老板需要知道你的工作时间,才好安排接下来的事情。告诉到达时间也表现出了你的诚意与负责人的态度,表现出了你对工作的关心。

以上3点非常重要。那么该如何发短信给老板呢?下面是一个非常简单的模板:

 

申し訳ございません。(道歉)今、〇〇で遅刻しているため、(原因) 〇〇分に到着します。(预计到达时间)。

 

发了短信并不是结束。到达工作场所后,你需要再一次的向蜡版道歉,并简单的解释下原因。在下班之前道歉也是有效的,以表明你确实为大家带来了不便。这样,老板对你的印象会有所加分,你也能与老板建立更好的关系。

 

现在,你大概已经了解了“守时”对日本人来说多么重要。其实,现在越来越多的日本人已经没有那么强烈的时间观念,但“守时”仍然是日本社会的一个重要因素。在日本社会中,“信任”非常重要,当你不止一次的犯同样的错误,日本人是不能容忍的。为了能与你的老板、同事建立良好的关系,在犯了一次错误后尽量小心,避免再犯同样的错误。

 

 

This content is restricted to members. If you are an existing user, please log in. We would love for you to register below.

Please Subscribe to Guidable Japan
  Access to premium articles
  New article notifications
   Premium Q&A service available to get your questions answered

Existing Users Log In
   
New User Registration
*Required field

Are you seeking a new job? Our service can help you to do it.

Guidable Jobs

スポンサーリンク

Your personal information will only be used for inquiry response.

SPECIAL

CATEGORY

OUR EVENT

OUR SERVICE

PICK UP

Popular Articles

Recommended Articles

The importance of punctuality in Japan- what to do when you are late for work

May 17, 2017


‘You are late!!!’

Having being working in an Izakaya (Japanese bar) for one and a half year, I have seen my Tencho (shop manager) scolding at foreign part time workers for being late for numerous times. For the Japanese who have been brought up in such a time-conscious society, sometimes it is hard for them to accept the ‘loose’ attitude to time held by most of the people who are from other countries. Therefore, if you want to fit into Japanese society completely, it is crucial for you to understand the value of punctuality in Japan. In this article, I will be writing about what is ‘being punctual’ for Japanese and what to do when you are late to your workplace.


Punctuality in Japan

As we all might have noticed, Japanese people are concerned about being punctual. It is common sense for Japanese to ‘be prompt,’ and we all need to aware that ‘being prompt’ in Japanese society has a significantly different meaning to that in other countries. For example, if you were told to go to your baito(part time work) at 10, and you arrived just on time, you would be considered as late. It is because, in Japan, it is common for people to arrive 10 minutes before the time they are told to come. When you are told to come at 10:00 a.m, it means that your boss is expecting you to be able to start working from 10:00 am and not from 10:15. Therefore, you are expected to come before the time you are told to come and preparing yourself to work.

By now, I think you all have understood how Japanese perceive punctuality and knew that being late just even for 1 minutes can be a huge matter in Japan. Even if you have understood the importance of punctuality, there are still many chances for you to be late for work due to different reasons. So what should we do when we know we are going to be late to the workplace?

What to do when you are late?
There are many different reasons that make you be late for work. The train might delay due to the accident, or you might oversleep. When you know you are going to be late, the first thing you should do is to contact your workplace. You can either call your boss by phone, or you can send a message through LINE. And when you are sending a message, there are 3 crucial things that you need to mention in your text:

1. Apologize
2. Reason
3. Time you can arrive

Apologizing to your boss and your colleagues is the first and the most crucial thing to do. When you could not arrive on time, there should be someone who was covering your work. If the work is operated by small amount of people, your absence might have caused a huge problem for other workers. Therefore the most important thing for you to do is to show respect to your colleagues and apologize. So when you are telling your workplace that you are going to late, you should start up with an apology.

After you have apologized, you need to tell your workplace why you are late. It is considered as a manner for Japanese to explain why you are late for work. Here you need to be careful of what to say for your excuses. You should avoid reasons that are personal. For example, you should not be telling them you are late because you were drinking with your friends and overslept this morning, otherwise they might see you as an untruthful person. Also, you should not say that you are late because you are busy with homework, as you might be seen as a person who is self-centered. When you overslept, you just need to tell them you overslept, and you should not make any excuse for that, as they might see you as someone who is trying to avoid responsibility.

After you have told your reason why you are late, you have to mention at what time you can arrive. This is also important as you are affecting the working efficiency of the workplace, and your boss needs to know when you are coming. This is also a way to show your sincerity by giving enough information about yourself because that can tell your boss that you do care about the work.
Having known the 3 things you need to mention, Here is one example of how to text or call your workplace when you are late:
申し訳ございません。(apologize)今、〇〇で遅刻しているため、(explaining reason) 〇〇分に到着します。(when you can arrive)

After you have arrived your workplace, you should apologize directly to your boss, and explain your reason once again. It is also effective to apologize again right before you leave your workplace, to show that you do care about the inconvenience you brought to them. By doing so, you can build up a better relationship with your boss by giving them a better impression.

By now, I think you have understood the importance of punctuality in the Japanese society, and how to deal with it when you are late for work. These days, there are more and more Japanese who have become more relaxed about time, but still ‘being punctual’ is an important element in Japanese society. It might seem it is very tough to live in Japanese society but in Japan, Shinya ‘trust’ is very important. It is often not tolerated when you make the same mistake more than once. To build up a good relationship with your boss as well as your colleagues, you have to be extremely careful after making one mistake. So when you are late to work, try not to make the same mistake again!


Would you like to teach children English in such an environment as below?

Well, let Guidable Jobs help you! Just click here and apply for this job!

Of course, you may search for more job information on Guidable Jobs.

Link: https://jobs.guidable.co/

スポンサーリンク

Workの最新記事